“Isn’t that like, the trendy thing to have?”

I heard back from the Doctor! Everything looked normal – except my iron. I have low iron, but I am not anemic yet. So that is a positive!

He finally offered me a referral! It was for a specific doctor – so I called their office. He didn’t have any openings until the end of June. I asked if they knew of anyone else who would be good, and now I have an appointment with the gastroenterologist Dr. Jonnalagadda on May 16th! I had to ask the nurse how to spell his name – and yes, that is accurate. 🙂

So, in preparation for said appointment, I am intensifying my wheat ingestion. I had a scone this morning. I had a hotdog on a white bun this afternoon. I ate some vanilla cake. Honestly, I forgot how chewy and flavorless white wheat is. I really don’t even care for it now that I have cut it out – which makes it easy to stop eating it after this appointment!

I am really excited because I did meet a girl at a friend’s birthday party who is a diagnosed celiac. Did you know if you have the endoscopy done and are a confirmed celiac that you can write off the cost difference in food on your taxes? There are a lot of things I can learn from her if I am actually diagnosed. Regardless, I am excited to sit down with her to talk about everything.

While we were at the party, this girl overheard us talking and was like, “Oh, isn’t that like the trendy thing to have now? Like, oh I can’t eat wheat, and all this gluten free stuff.” Melanie and I both jumped at the opportunity to correct this method of thinking. I immediately responded with, “No, I loose circulation to my fingers and toes.” and Melanie followed with, “How would you like to be running to the bathroom within 30 minutes of eating every time, in a not fun way?” After we gave her a few examples, she surprisingly was wowed. She even said when she eats wheat she gets super sleepy, but she never thought the correlation could be gluten intolerance.

I am constantly amazed at how many people think gluten intolerance, or celiac is all in your head. If you were living with these symptoms, you would know that it is very, very real.

I mean – I am having to force wheat back into my diet and I know I will be successfully screwed up once I start getting diarrhea. It’s a sad reality. No one wants to have to deal with that every time they eat. It’s amazing, but the symptoms can really only be understood by people with similar issues.

I guess all we can do is keep trying to educate people on the reality of intolerance and autoimmunity.

Leave a Reply

